I swear I do finish things sometimes.

8 Nov

I really need to care more about the photos I take because they never really show my work very well.

Jitterbug Socks

Last year, I made the red cabled hat with ear flaps, inspired by Amy Poehler’s ads for The Gap. This year, I wanted to make a horse shoe cable hat like every chain store (forever 21, top shop, old navy) has for sale, only I don’t love slouch hats, so I made mine fitted.

Here’s the recipe, from what I remember. Hopefully, without errors.

I used a size 10 needled. Cast on 58 stitches, join to knit in round, place marker before first stitch to mark your row.
Work 1×1 rib for 5 rows, then knit a row while increasing to 70 stitches.

Work a horseshoe cable pattern 2 times:
*p2, c3b, c3f, repeat from * to end of row.
*p2, k12, repeat from * to end of row. Repeat this row 8 times.

(edited to add: my hat came out a bit short, so if you want to make yours longer, you could repeat the “*p2, k12, repeat from * to end of row” an extra row or two. Then in the next section, start your decrease row later as well. For example, you could add 2 rows, so you’d do 10 “*p2, k12, repeat from * to end of row” and then start your decreases in the 9th row of the next set of cables.)

Begin a third cable set, but in 7th row of 3rd cable set, work decrease as follows:
*p2, k2tog, k1, k2tog, k2, k2tog, k1, k2tog, k1, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, k8, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, k2tog 4 times, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, k4, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, c1b, c1f, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, k4, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, k2tog twice, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2, k2, repeat from * to end.
Next row: *p2tog, k2tog, repeat from * to end.
Cut yarn and thread it through remaining stitches and pull tight. Fasten, then weave in all ends.

And it’s November, which is the month for NaKniSweMo (which is a sweater knit-along in honor of NaNoWriMo). And since this will only be my second actual sweater, I’m taking Jenny and Nicole of Stash and Burn‘s lead and choosing my own pattern to knit instead of the official NaKniSweMo pattern… I’m giving myself the goal of knitting the Long Cabled Vest by Gayle Bunn for Caron.

I’m using an alpaca yarn I got at Rhinebeck, so I think I’ll shorten it some since the alpaca will stretch and I don’t want to end up with a robe. Or floor length knitting dress thing. Let’s hope it turns out well!

8 Responses to “I swear I do finish things sometimes.”

  1. Rachele January 11, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    I love that hat! Do you happen to remember the needle size you used?
    The color contrasts with your hair beautifully!

  2. Faby May 3, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Thank you!! very pretty!

  3. Diana December 16, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    Hi, I love the hat, do you remember what needle size u used?

    • cristalle December 16, 2010 at 9:01 am #

      I used a size 10 needle. Thanks for reading and commenting!!

      • Diana December 16, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

        thanks! Sorry I have another question. I’m new to cable stitches and I got to the part where it the horseshoe pattern. what did you meant by “Work a horseshoe cable pattern 2 times:” I finished the
        “*p2, c3b, c3f, repeat from * to end of row.”
        do I work on the next one?
        “*p2, k12, repeat from * to end of row. ” and do I repeat this row 8 times?
        does that count as one pattern?

      • cristalle December 23, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

        Hi Diana! Sorry it took me so long to respond to this…
        once you get past the ribbed part, the next row will be the increase row, then the next row will be *p2, c3b, c3f, repeat from * to end of row. The following row and the next 9+ rows (whatever you decide… if you want to make the hat longer, add a few rows) will be *p2, k12, repeat from * to end of row. This is what I consider one cable section. Then repeat the *p2, c3b, c3f, repeat from * to end of row. And then do the *p2, k12, repeat from * to end of row for the same amount of rows as you did before…

        I hope this helps! And again, sorry for the delayed response! Holidays are HECTIC!

  4. roarenge February 8, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    I’d love to know how the long cable vest is coming!

    • cristalle February 12, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      I actually ripped it out a long time ago. Sorry! The yarn has been reassigned, FINALLY, to this sweater that is now in progress!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

